True Story: I Went to a David Duchovny Concert

Back in the halcyon days of early November, while we were still basking in the glow of a Cubs World Series win, David Duchovny tweeted his North American tour schedule. (I know, I know, I’ll give you a moment to deal with that sentence.) I put out the call to find my other “ladies of a certain age” who needed to share this experience with me.

And I found my people quickly.

Five days later, the U.S. elected a new president and my attention was focused elsewhere. (Has it really only been three months? I feel like I’ve aged YEARS!) Luckily, my friends were on the ball:

screen-shot-2017-02-19-at-8-53-04-pm

The best part of the evening was dinner. A diner in an old rail car just off Van Ness was exactly what we needed to fortify us for the night ahead. Never one to turn down breakfast for dinner, my Mountain Man platter with caramel malt (with hipster sea salt) was as delicious as it looked.

From there, we headed to the venue, which is underneath the Regency Ballroom, where Reel Big Fish was playing. Though there were signs for both shows at each entrance, it was pretty easy to recognize who was going to which show.

The opening act was almost done by the time we arrived, so we have plenty of time to grab a drink, check the merch table and covertly look for Tumblr acquaintances before DD showed up. The venue was generously half full. We lingered toward the back, as all of us are pretty short, but the back of the crowd kept moving forward through the evening, so we ended up pretty close by the encore.

ddstage

I’ll be the first to admit, that I’m not a Duchovny music fan. (Duchovny stans, don’t @ me, mmkay?) I attended out of curiosity and mostly because 14-year-old me would have never believed I would end up in the same room as the man who played Mulder. Suffice to say, I didn’t really know the set list, but that didn’t really matter.

In addition to his original stuff (from the High or Highwater album and the forthcoming album), he also played a few covers. During the David Bowie cover, he jumped off the stage and ran around the edge of the crowd, including about a foot in front of us, giving high fives. I did NOT get a high five, but I was much closer to him that I ever though possible, so that was pretty great. I also realized at that time, that 2017 Duchovny reminds of my 6th grade teacher, Mr. Rafalko, which probably explains my enjoyment of the concert despite the music.

ddstage2

My favorite part of the evening was when he and the band put on pussy hats and sang “The Weight” during the encore. It was surreal, ridiculous and lovable all at the same time.

For as much as I snarked during the show, David Duchovny looks happy, healthy and was having a great time, even if he couldn’t always find the right note. He sold out of few kinds of merch and got to share his passion with a room of fans, myself included. We should all be so lucky.

