The Boy Is Back by Meg Cabot

28693701My first forays into chick lit when I was just out of high school were written by Meg Cabot. She hasn’t written any adult novels in a while, so when I found out that there was a third book in the “Boy” series coming out, I jumped on it.

My favorite thing about these books is how the story is told completely through non-narrative means – text messages, journal entries, product reviews, chat apps, newspaper articles and even a self-transcribing app that happens to record a conversation after a reporter tries to use it for an interview. The first two books also used things like making notes on receipts and napkins, which I briefly took up in my own journal. The book just flies by because there are no chapters, just breaks between storytelling devices. Even the longest text exchange is only a few pages, so you just want to keep reading.

Anyway, given that I haven’t read the other two books in more than ten years, I don’t think this book is actually related to the others, except in the way the story is told. Prominent citizens in a small town in Indiana are arrested after trying to pay for their meal with a postage stamp. What follows is the three adult children trying to take care of the fallout without killing their parents or each other. And the person they hire to help out used to date the youngest son in high school – and it did NOT end well. Luckily, it seems like the elder Stewarts aren’t actually in ill-health, but do need help, so it’s more funny than depressing (especially given the last couple years of my life).

I really enjoyed this book and I hope that Ms. Cabot will come back to adult fiction sooner rather than later because she’s been sorely missing on my bookshelf!

