Technical Hitch by Jane Sigaloff

358914This book has been on my TBR list for a long time as it’s published by the now-shuttered Red Dress Ink imprint, which was my chick lit reading list 10 years ago. I don’t know if I’ve moved on or if the book quality was part of the reason this imprint hasn’t survived, but my main reaction to this book was – meh.

Our main characters are Jessica James, wedding planner, who gets “cold feet” just hours before her own wedding and then spends most of the book thinking she might have made a mistake, and Emma Carlisle, who got married to the biggest movie star because her boss (and her new husband, Jack’s publicist) suggested that it would be a good idea. But maybe they’ll fall in love anyway? Plus, Jessica’s BFF (who happens to be the sister of Jessica’s would-be groom) is always lovelorn, until she suddenly isn’t and they’re getting married – yay? Also there’s some business about how Jessica’s sister might not be legally married to her husband because they got married abroad and all the sister is whining about is the “illegitimacy” of their baby. Just…okay.

If it sounds pretty ridiculous, it basically is. There’s no one to really root for and everyone was annoying me. But it was a quick read once I finally sat down to read it, so there’s that.

Speaking of, as I’m not going to make my original goal of 30 books this year (I keep getting distracted!), but I’m going to try to finish up strong with 26, which works out to a book every 3 days this month. Crazy? Possibly, but you know how competitive I am, so let’s do this!

