The Overnight Socialite by Bridie Clark

6411599This is another Friends of SFPL purchase, which is now nearly a year old. I’m still not entirely sure what to think. It’s pretty basic My Fair Lady chick lit, with our wannabe fashion designer heroine from Minnesota who runs into her Henry Higgins, a Manhattan playboy, looking for his next project. He thinks turning Lucy Jo Ellis into the next IT girl of the NYC socialite scene will make a great academic book as an anthropological study of the class of people to whom he also belongs. Lucy Jo gets a makeover and a promise of contacts to launch her fashion line.

It proceeds as expected with Lucy changing her name, her accent, her backstory and her body to conform to the expected socialite standards. Wyatt, her Henry Higgins, feels guilty for not telling her about the book that will unmask her as the fraud she is, but never enough to actually TELL her about it. And everyone they meet seems to think they are an item. I assume we’re supposed to think that too, but it’s never really clear that he does like her.

The end is more satisfying that I expected and I did like how it was kinda open-ended. I didn’t think I’d finish this book feeling good, but here we are.

