A Question of Love by Isabel Wolff

377537Hey look, I actually finished more than one book in a month! I’m trying to make more time to read during the week and not just binging on a book while I’m doing laundry or getting a pedicure. I hope as the school year ends and work slows down, I can up my reading to at least 3 books a month. Maybe I’ll actually hit my goal this year!

This book is another one I picked up at Waterstones, one of the few Isabel Wolff books I haven’t read yet, not being able to find it in the US. It came out in 2005, so it brings me back the height of quiz shows on TV and Anne Robinson stared us down and doled out catchphrases. Our heroine is thrust into the spotlight as she and her boss have developed a quiz show for TV after she admits that she’s been writing pub quiz questions for extra money. Now I love a pub quiz, but I never really thought about where the questions came from. I wish such a gig were available here, or maybe now that we have iPhones, it’s an obsolete job.

Anyway, Laura Quick has a husband who’s out of the picture (though it takes about a third of the book to find out what’s actually happened to him) and two sisters, who are each annoying in their own way. Her older sister, Felicity, is a late-in-life new mum who is OBSESSED with her baby. Laura has far more patience than I because just reading about it made me want to slap her. Her younger sister thinks her husband is cheating on her and wants Laura to follow him to see where he’s going and won’t take no for an answer. Hope doesn’t get the answer she thinks when Laura finally agrees, but at least she finds a way to talk to her husband.

Laura also re-meets her college boyfriend, who’s now a separated dad with a crazy ex-wife. Again, Laura is FAR kinder than I because she puts up with his BS in dealing with his wife “because he loves his daughter so much.” Her “real” romance is a nice slow burn and with the exception of a short bit about the husband, I really do love how this ended up. Could have done without the epilogue (especially Hope’s part – ugh), but it’s a quite nice read.

