Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns by Lauren Weisberger

16130307I remember reading “The Devil Wears Prada” in 2004 on a whirlwind trip to San Francisco. I had to come up here for some orientation/advising things before starting college and I picked up the paperback at the airport. I finished the book while sitting in a hallway, waiting to talk to an advisor. Then it was turned into a movie, which I saw and was disappointed by. But that movie is on cable every weekend, so I’ve come to enjoy it as its own thing.

I don’t know how I missed that Lauren Weisberger wrote a sequel to the book, but I finally picked it up a couple weeks ago. The first thing I noticed was how different the book must be from the movie in ways I didn’t remember (like the boyfriend’s name or the Christian guy’s last name) because it was VERY hard to jump back in.

Most of it doesn’t matter because we pick up with Andy ten years later and she’s in a different place in her life, sorta. She’s about to marry the perfect guy, even though his mother doesn’t like her. And she’s back working with Emily, who is now her BFF and they’ve created the perfect wedding magazine. It gets more unbelievable from there. There’s also a ton of time skips (from one chapter to another), so things that happen have been building, but you get a bit of whiplash.

The “devil returns” when Elias-Clark wants to buy Andy and Emily’s magazine, and Miranda Priestley is now the managing editor of everything at Elias-Clark. Except Miranda’s barely in the book and it’s Andy’s own people who end up screwing her over. Maybe Meryl Streep has ruined the “devil” for me, but everyone was being unreasonable and avoiding things, which was really annoying to read about it. They are all my age now, so the immaturity and ridiculousness was a bit much.

It was a quick read, but I didn’t really need to dip back into the “Devil” book universe the way I thought.

