What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding by Kristin Newman

18373272Turns out, when I don’t spend so much of my life on planes, I don’t read as much – oops! One of my co-workers lent me this book back in February before my first jaunt across the country, but I didn’t get it read until now – double oops!

Kristin Newman’s travel memoir hits a lot of my buttons, but I still ended up feeling a little empty at the end. Maybe it was the movie-perfect ending, whether after all her travels and friends and men, she’s no longer single and everything turned out great. My intense wanderlust jealousy was also activated as she described some truly amazing activities that I’d love to have the opportunity to try. Or perhaps it was the fact that she’s a successful television writer (my secret dream) with tons of disposable income (see all her travels) and time off during hiatus months. It also didn’t help that she and I are totally different kinds of travelers and she’d probably hate traveling with me because I “do it wrong.”

I did enjoy her advice to “do the thing you’re supposed to do in the place you’re supposed to do it.” You really can’t do wrong with that.

