The Sweetest Thing by Cathy Woodman

9934063Since I was waiting for the next set of books to come from Link+, I thought I’d go ahead and tackle the next book in the Talyton St. George saga that I picked up at Waterstones when I was last in London. This book features a totally different protagonist and love interest from the previous two. Maz and Alex both show up very briefly when they interact with Jennie’s new pets, but we don’t really get any update into their lives.

Jennie moves to Uphill House (which she renames Jennie’s Folly) outside Talyton St. George, after she gets divorced from her crap husband (he leaves her after he falls in love with his latest affair). She’s got three kids and a desire to start a cake business in this small town. She promised each kid a pet as a reward for moving to East Devon from London and she follows through, even though she doesn’t know anything about having a pet (especially a pony or a bunch of chickens). Luckily, the neighbor at the farm next door, Guy, is willing to pitch in and help out, even if he doesn’t think a townie like Jennie can make it in the country.

The book was FULL of British slang that I needed to look up, which may be part of the reason why the rest of this series hasn’t made it to the US. Jennie is a bit of a mess and lets her kids run roughshod over her to the point where she’s spending money she doesn’t have to buy a pony for her middle kid, even though she seems to know less about horses than I do. It ends well, but there’s no real triumph to root for. It was a quick read, but I’m not chomping at the bit to catch up on the rest of the series, like I thought I’d be.

