Yes Please by Amy Poehler

20910157If Minda Kaling is the girl I want to be best friends with and Tina Fey is the woman I wish I could be, Amy Poehler is my awesome big sister, who will always be cooler than me, but lets me tag along anyway.

I was going to ask for this book for Christmas, but I got this fancy new laptop instead, so last week, I figured I could buy my own damn book and shut up about. This week has been stressful (more than usual where family is concerned), and it has been absolutely lovely to dive into Amy Poehler’s words as a bit of an escape. She’s funny, witty, soulful and a bit more crunchy than I would have expected. There are a lot of things in this book that I don’t get because I’m a not a mother, but it never feels like she’s shoving it down my throat. I especially loved the chapter written by Seth Meyers and her chapter about Parks and Recreation, annotated by Michael Schur.

I expect I’ll be re-reading this book again and again, grasping different little bits of wisdom each time. That’s what big sisters are for anyhow, right?

