Step Back in Time by Ali McNamara

tumblr_inline_nbcin2IzTB1qhlpw5It’s been a long while since I’ve loved a book this much and I can’t believe I was hesitant to pick it up because I couldn’t put it down once I did. I mean, the premise is our heroine is a busy workaholic who gets hit by a car in a crosswalk, which sends her on a time traveling journey through the 60s, 70s, 80s and 90s. But it totally works! Not only that, it’s so vividly written, I’m actually shocked it hasn’t been made into a movie.

I can’t identify with Jo-Jo’s love of math, but I absolutely adore how she wholeheartedly throws herself into whatever circumstance she’s in when she time travels. She rightly questions what on Earth is going on, but then just gets going with the life she’s been dropped into, meeting her constant companions, Ellie (PA from her firm), Henry (love interest), George (record store owner/time traveling guru). The way she falls in love with Henry is so subtle and lovely that it just gets me right in the heart. I didn’t see how it ended coming at all, which is actually brilliant and a little shocking.

There’s Beatles songs/trivia/lore/names throughout, but I was actually reminded of the Ben Folds song, “The Luckiest,” as I was reading: What if I’d been born fifty years before you / In a house on a street where you lived? / Maybe I’d be outside as you passed on your bike / Would I know? / And in a white sea of eyes / I see one pair that I recognize / And I know

So lovely and fun!

