Forget Me Not by Isabel Wolff

2257071This was another of my Waterstones in London purchases as Isabel Wolff is one of my favorite authors and I couldn’t get this book from the library.

It’s not one of my favorites as it takes a long time for anything to really happen. Time seems to pass without warning and since the beginning of the book is mostly flashback, it’s hard to know what’s happening now and what happened before. Our heroine, Anna Temple, is a single mom to a willful little girl called Milly. Perhaps it’s my hatred of children coming through, but I found Milly REALLY insufferable through most of the book, but her behavior is rarely commented on. Anna’s a garden designer, which is clearly an English Thing, but still fun to read about. There are a few men that appear throughout the book, but none of them are particularly well-drawn or interesting. Anna’s far too wishy-washy about all of them, however, so I guess it doesn’t make a big difference.

The “big family secret” that threatens everything Anna knows to be true doesn’t show up until 2/3 of the way through the book and though it’s a bit shocking, it doesn’t really have any impact. There are a few storylines that are set up as big deals and then they just land like a feather or don’t resolve at all. Needless to say, this was NOT my favorite Isabel Wolff, but I’m definitely not off her.

