From Notting Hill to New York…Actually by Ali McNamara

tumblr_inline_mqoykiNJOb1qhlpw5One of the first things I did on my recent trip to London was pop into Waterstones to see if I could get books by some of my favorite British authors that I can’t find in the US. And of course, they were having a buy one, get one half off sale, so I bought more than I probably should have (and yet, there are still tons to buy!).

This is the follow up to the one I read in April, about a girl called Scarlett who is obsessed with rom-coms. She’s now living with Sean, her neighbor-turned-boyfriend, after having redone his kitchen and garden, in his flat in Notting Hill. Must be nice. Anyway, she’s off to New York to visit her dad with her BFF Oscar and she immediately ends up in some Scarlett-like shenanigans. This book requires WAY more suspension of disbelief as Bradley Cooper features prominently among other things. I saw the plot twist coming about halfway through the book and it still works. The ending was crazy and even though it’s completely unrealistic, I couldn’t wait to read what was next!

Of course, there’s a third book that comes out next week in the UK and in February in the US. We’ll see if I have the willpower to make it until then!

