From Notting Hill with Love…Actually by Ali McNamara

tumblr_inline_mqoybk1zFJ1qhlpw5I wasn’t immediately sold on this book, but a hundred pages in, I didn’t want to put it down. Scarlett is obsessed with romantic comedies, much to the chagrin of her father and her fiance. She takes a month off to housesit a house in Notting Hill for friends of her friend, hoping to find some clarity about her relationship with movies (and her fiance).

This is one of those chick lit books that you just know she’s going to drop her drip of a fiance for the dashing if aloof man she runs into in the first 20 pages, but you just can’t figure out how it’s going to happen. Add in some mother abandonment issues and you’ve got a very compelling 400 pages. The author is clearly a fan of the romcoms as well, going as far as to include a movie lover’s guide to Notting Hill in the back. I’m not embarrassed to say that I got most of the references without her exposition, which is likely why I picked up this book in the first place. I also really loved that they went to Disneyland Paris because as much as I love London, I also love Disneyland, so it was excellent to combine those in one book.

The library doesn’t have the sequel to this book, but I’ll definitely be on the lookout this summer.

