A Royal Pain by Megan Mulry

17164311Katia read this one over Christmas, and I’ve had it in my back pocket for a nice summer read. Once I picked it up, I didn’t really want to put it down. It’s not a perfect book, but I think I liked it better than K did.

I really liked Bronte and her straightforward attitude that she adopts after getting her heartbroken. I don’t think it actually works the way that it does for her, but I didn’t totally believe her meet-cute with Max either. That said, I really enjoyed their initial romance, especially the fact that it didn’t overwhelm their lives. I was not expecting the first twist, but I loved how Bronte got through it.

The second meet-cute was even less believable, but at the same time, it needed to happen. I thought she took him back too easily, but they really did work together. I liked that Bronte was able to fit in with Max’s family as well as she did and that she didn’t give up her career. The final fight was way over the top and I didn’t really like the way it was resolved as it was way too quick. They never really talked about how it would actually work and what their actual duties would be as Max took on his title.

But I just saw that Ms. Mulry has written a companion about Bronte’s big client and Max’s brother, so I’ll be eager to read that one as soon as I can figure where to get it.

