I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

12033455This book hits a lot of the same beats that other Sophie Kinsella novels do, but you know what? It totally works.

Poppy is a little scatterbrained and she goes a little too far sometimes, but you can really sympathize with her most of the time. I didn’t even realize that Sam Roxton was the hero of our story until about 1/3 of the way into the book. I had pictured him as much older and gruffer than he turns out to be. I really enjoyed how gradually Sam and Poppy came together, mostly over email and text. As someone who hates talking on the phone and is mostly awkward, it was cool to see them getting to know each other in that way. I was cracking up when Sam was helping Poppy cheat at Scrabble via text and the internet.

As we got to the ending, I thought it was going to go one way, so I was really shocked to see how it really went. I could have done without some of the dramatics as it seems like that kind of thing really only happens in novels and movies. But the right guy ends up with the girl in the most delightful way possible, so I really can’t complain.

Sophie Kinsella has another book coming out next week and as soon as one of the libraries near me gets a copy, I’ll be reading that next.

