The Garden Intrigue by Lauren Willig

11732928I’m averaging a book a month these days, so I’m not optimistic that I’m going to get to 50 by the end of the year. But I’ve finally caught up on the Pink Carnation series, so that’s a win!

This book picks up around the time that the last book dropped off, following Emma Delagardie, American friend of the Pink Carnation. I can remember frightfully little about Jane Wooliston at this point, but apparently she’s BFF with Bonaparte’s step-daughter, gaining her lots of access to meetings, people and locations. Emma’s interaction with our leading man, Augustus Whittlesby, is a little predictable, but still fun. There’s a love triangle in this book, which is a bit different from the others and I was hoping that we’ve a different sort of ending than usual. We end too quickly as per usual, but it’s still nice.

The Colin/Eloise storyline is a little more intriguing this time and feels more grounded in real life. It’s hard to believe that we’ve only been with them for six months since it’s been YEARS that I’ve been reading this book. I was happy with the decision Eloise made at the end. It may not be romantic, but it felt more real. There’s also a rando cliffhanger towards the end of their story that’s setting up Pink X, I guess, but it really comes out of left field.

Bring on Pink Ten!

