Run 5K: Week Six & Seven in the books!

I meant to write this post when I finished Week Six, but time got away from me. Now I’m a day away from starting Week Eight, so I really need to post before I’m out of date again.

Yes, you read that right – I have ONE week of training left! Raise your hand if you thought I’d ever make it this far. Yep, me either!

Week Six was rough, trying to fit in my runs during the first week of school, after work. My usual after-work routine involves pajama pants and sitting on the couch, so coming home to change into my work-out gear and go for a run was definitely a big change, especially when work was so crazy. Day Three was the first time I’ve run for 20 minutes without stopping in a very long time, possibly ever.

Week Seven was daunting, sweaty, but ultimately empowering. I snuck in Day One after week last week before I had a busy weekend of NightLife, travel and family. Day Two was a different experience, rising at 7a on Saturday to try to beat the Arizona heat. It was 82 degrees when I started out for my 2.5 mile workout and I was exhausted by the time I finished. The new scenery in my parents neighborhood was fun, but I longed for my familiar path and benchmarks. I finished the week with Day Three on Wednesday after work, braving the 50 degree misty fog weather. However, for the first time in a while, I didn’t feel out of breath. I wasn’t pushing myself, but I didn’t feel like I was barely moving either. I made it to the “Victory Tree” every day, even with the different intervals. I finally felt like I was hitting my stride. My feet didn’t hurt, my nose wasn’t running too much and I had a good stretch in my calves. It was the first time I felt like maybe I could actually run the entire 5K without stopping.

I start Week Eight tomorrow and plan to do a real training run on the race course on Sunday. I don’t plan to get up as early as I’ll have to that day, but hope to at least attempt to run in the morning. I’ll be done with training runs next Tuesday, so I plan to just walk each day to keep the muscles warm without overdoing it. My race packet arrived last week, so this is becoming a reality now. I think I may actually be looking forward it instead just ready for it to be over!

Each day now has a different total running time , so I’ve had to adjust my playlist to suit.
Week Seven, Day Three
Do Your Thang – Basement Jaxx [Warm Up]
Go! (Dave Aude Deep Space Mix) – Jupiter Rising
Don’t Stop Dancing – Matt Morrison
I Like to Move It – Crazy Frog
There’s a Girl – The Ditty Bops
Stronger – Kelly Clarkson
One More – Superchick
Love You Like a Love Song – Selena Gomez and the Scene
Walk On – U2 [Cool Down]

4 thoughts on “Run 5K: Week Six & Seven in the books!

  1. Sharon says:

    Way to go! I knew you could do it! You are inspiring me… I started my re-training this morning… haven’t run all summer, but I plan to do the Komen 5K at the end of September. I was able to run 1.25 miles this morning, so hopefully my time off didn’t get me too out of shape. 😉 I’m excited to hear about your race day experience!

    Like

Comments are closed.