Run 5K: Personal Best!

I finished Week Two, Day Three today and I actually feel great! The run was strenuous, but I never felt like I couldn’t finish at any point. My walk sections were actually real powerwalks, keeping my heart rate up instead of slowing down and trying to catch my breath. I wasn’t deliberately trying to speed up from Wednesday’s run, but I just felt better about it. There’s a bench on Great Highway that I consider my “halfway” point, where I usually have to stop and strip off my long-sleeved overshirt to keep from overheating (even on these foggy days). On Wednesday, I had to walk at least another minute to get there, but today, I was almost there by the time the walk section ended!

Victory Tree

But the best part came at the end. On Day One, I was so exhausted by the time I got to the last run section, but to stay motivated, I challenged myself to keep running until I reached this tree. I timed it perfectly with the end of the run section, and I was so proud of myself. On Day Two, I was going much slower and didn’t even make it up the hill toward this tree by the time the last run section ended (though I did push myself to actually run to it!). Today, however, I not only made it up to the tree, but ran for an additional 25 seconds afterward! It’s the first time I’ve really felt strong while running.

I start Week Three next week and I’m a little nervous. I’ve never made it past Day Two. Fingers crossed that next week, I’m writing this kind of post about Week Three and nervous about Week Four!

