Smuggler’s Cove and #45 in the #SummerOfDrinking!

A few weeks ago, 7×7 magazine released their 50 Cocktails to Try Before You Die list. Immediately, it seemed like a challenge that my Bay Area friends and I needed to attack.

On Tuesday night, Akemi and I ventured over to Smuggler’s Cove in Hayes Valley for a pre-dinner drink. It was my first experience at the pirate-themed bar and I enjoyed the decor almost as much as the beverages. We headed downstairs which has a fantastic water feature (I need those multicolored lights at home!). It’s quite dark inside, but that just adds to the ambiance.

We both ordered #45 on the list – Smuggler’s Rum Barrel – without the souvenir glass. Our bartender was a little preoccupied talking to some regulars, but mixed up the drinks wonderfully! I’m not a huge fan of rum, but the other flavors mask it quite well (or enhance it if you like rum). The garnishes are also divine and I may demand flowers in all my future drinks now.

I’m a lightweight, and it showed with this beverage. By the time I finished, I was feelin’ it and getting back up the stairs was a bit of an issue. Luckily, we were headed off to a delicious dinner and by the time I got on the bus to go home, I was back to normal again. I will definitely be headed back to Smuggler’s Cove to sample what else they have to offer!

