Run 5K: Starting at the Beginning (Again)

Now that I’m back from vacation, it’s time for me to working out on the regular. Back in January, I impulsively signed up for The Giant Race 5K, taking place September 16th. That’s 14 weeks for me to train before race day. I’ve never gotten beyond Week Three in my Run 5K program, but this summer is the time for that change!

Today, I started Week One, Day One for the third time this year with a new running mix (below). The weather was gorgeous (I took the mix cover photo at the halfway point) and it was quite warm. I’m still having some foot pain (now it’s worse in my left foot than my right), but I definitely felt good during the running sections. The program always told me to stop running before I was ready/needed to stop, which made me feel good. The big challenge will be if I can make myself continue to Week One, Day Two after work on Monday. I can’t train the way I need to only on the weekends. Fingers crossed!

