Feels Like Home To Me

Last week, I attended my first and second games of the season at AT&T Park. On Tuesday, I took some of my students as a perk for their service to our program. For some of them, it was their first time inside the ballpark and their very first Giants game. For me, it just felt like coming home. I’ve only been a Giants fan for seven years (May 8, 2005 was my first game), but walking into AT&T Park always just fills me with peace and joy in a way that very few other places do.

I wish I could say that same for the game, but we ended up losing to the newly-named/relocated Miami Marlins 2-1. We did have one great moment in the 7th when Panda (Pablo Sandoval) hit a home run. It felt great to be screaming with 41,000 folks for my home team again. Of course, It was the first of three games that we would drop to the Marlins, but when the pitcher (Matt Cain) is the first player to get a hit in the game, that’s not unexpected.

It was another gorgeous day in San Francisco when Akemi and I entered the Park with our texting gloves in hand. We had accomplished our first mission (get texting gloves) and now were in search of our second – get cuisine and libations (not necessarily in that order). She and I made a circuit of the Promenade level, admiring the new offerings and grabbing beverages off the Willie Mays landing. We made a second circuit in search of the s’mores we’ve been craving for two months, but couldn’t find them. We tweeted the Giants, but received no reply. We settled for bacon-wrapped hotdogs instead.

The game started and it was immediately apparent that it was not Tim Lincecum’s day. Ten of his first 12 pitches were balls and he hit the first batter. He exited the game early (though not as early as we would have liked). Akemi and I got hot fudge sundaes to drown our sorrows in the 6th inning. Turns out they were magic sundaes because the Giants managed to tie the game when we started eating them. Unfortunately, in the very next inning, the Brewers pulled ahead again and the Giants weren’t able to pull it together. Luckily, they did win the games on Saturday and Sunday, not totally dropping the series like the Marlins series.

But even as I sat there, wrapped in the blanket my mother knitted me for Christmas, eating my hot fudge sundae and yelling at my team to do better, I thought, there’s no place else I’d rather be.

