Springtime, ready for a fresh start

I think everyone starts the new year with high hopes of making big changes. During my January break, I was at the gym, in classes, at least three times a week and running after work and on the weekend. I was writing down everything I ate and keeping to my prescribed caloric intake for weight loss.

Then I got sick, the semester started and all of the sudden, it’s April. The last time I did laundry I didn’t have a single piece of workout clothing in the mix. I come home and mindlessly eat tortilla chips while thinking about what to make for dinner. It shouldn’t have been surprising that I’d gained back four of the pounds I lost when I was weighed at the doctor’s over Spring Break, but it was disheartening.

I could complain that work is busier than ever (it’s true!), so the last thing I want to do when I get home is go for a run or really do anything that doesn’t involve my ass on the couch. But like Tom Hanks said (in of my favorite movies), “It’s supposed to be hard. If it wasn’t hard, everyone would do it. The hard… is what makes it great.”

So, in that spirit, I started a new workout today. I know it’s April, but the goal and the days line up, so Six-Pack March starts now. The sit ups were harder than I imagined and my upper body strength is nil, so the push ups were NOT fun. But in a few minutes, I had accomplished the workout for today. Of course, the big test will be continuing tomorrow and then keeping up the momentum as I go back to work.

I’ve got 44 days until I go on my big vacation and I intend to make the most of them. Here goes nothing!

