Run 5K – Week Two Completed!

Over a month ago, I was struggling in Week Two of Run 5K and skipping group fitness classes because I was sore/busy. Then Sketchfest happened, I got a cold, it cold/rainy outside, my parents visited. Basically, I was an excuse factory for a month.

My New Kicks!

I wasn’t totally idle during my unintentional break. I got a raise this month and my treat to myself was brand-new running shoes. I last bought running shoes in 2002/2003 (I can’t remember when exactly), so it was MORE than time to get new ones. I went to See Jane Run in Noe Valley and the experience was everything I hoped it would be. The sales associate watched me walk and stand to see what kind of shoes I needed. Then I tried on various pairs, even leaving the store to run around the block and really get a feel for them. I ended up with the first pair of shoes I tried, Brooks Ravenna 3. I wasn’t totally sold on the color, but they just fit so well and it didn’t even feel like I was wearing shoes at all.

Yesterday, I decided I wanted to get back to work, but the wind in San Francisco was brutal. My weather app said it was only 9 mph, but I could barely catch my breath during the walk. I did one run sequence and gave up. It was the first time I’ve ever given up so far, but I knew if the wind died down today, I’d get a much better workout.

This morning, I pulled on my running clothes and set out for the beach. It was definitely chillier than I prefer when running outside, but I persevered. I had to stop a couple times to catch my breath, but I finished week two after a five week break! I still had pain in my foot, even with my new shoes, so I’ll be heading back to See Jane Run to see if they have some inserts or other suggestions to get that under control.

I’m happy to get back to training because I also signed up for my first 5K this morning! I’ll be running in the Giant Race in September. I wanted to give myself plenty of time to get into shape before the big day, especially if I continue to have month-long breaks before training runs. Besides, I thought it was only fitting that my first race begin and end at AT&T Park; fingers crossed for a high-five from Buster Posey!

