Running to the future

One of my 2012 goals is to get a handle on my weight (i.e. get some of it off) and get more fit. I don’t like the feeling I get when I run three blocks for the bus and spend the rest of the ride recovering from that tiny sprint.

Before my holiday break, I had gone to two fitness classes at the gym (actually setting foot inside the gym for the first time ever!) and while on vacation, I walked the neighborhood twice with my parents. I went to spin class on Thursday, but I’m hoping to step up my class attendance (at least until the semester starts again). Thankfully, two of my co-workers are in this with me, making it SO much easier to actually go to the gym and not rationalize my way out of it.

Today, I completed Day One, Week One of my Run 5K app. I’ve completed Day One of a Couch-to-5K program at least twice before, but I’m very hopeful that I’ll actually do Day Two, Week One on Wednesday, even if I have to just run around campus since it’ll be dark when I get home.

I had planned my playlist for this week, but I came up about 20-30 seconds short. So, I need your help. Below is my current playlist. Of the middle six songs, which one(s) would you remove and what would you add in its place to make up the extra 30 seconds?

Uprising – Muse – 5:05 (Warm up)
Anthem – Superchick – 2:53
Extraordinary – Liz Phair – 3:28
Shawty Get Loose – Lil Mama – 3:33
Bulletproof – La Roux – 3:26
Shake It – Metro Station – 3:00
Hot N Cold – Katy Perry – 3:40
I Wanna Be With You – Mandy Moore – 5:02 (Cool down)

If you have general suggestions for workout music, please also let me know. I got iTunes gifts cards for Christmas and I’d love to stock up on tunes that inspire you to get your heart pumping!

