Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

10335308
As I knew I would, I loved this book. It’s a quick read and it sounds exactly like how I imagine a conversation between Mindy Kaling and I would go. And after reading this book, I feel confident that Ms. Kaling would have no problem with the fact that I may imagined how a conversation between us might go.

There are times when it feels disjointed, but it does appear that the book is to be read straight through. There were some sections that I wished went on longer and others that I was left scratching my head as to why they were included. But it’s all perfectly Mindy (in the way that she portrays herself to be while in public) and that’s all I really wanted. Basically a longer version of her Twitter feed, a revival of her shopping blog. (It’s actually way more than that, even in between the “Guys should have chest hair” and “Here’s how I want my funeral to go” essays, but it was still a nice break from the Pulitzer Prize winner I’ve been reading.)

I definitely laughed a lot and found myself nodding along with many of her observations. She seems much more put together than me, even though she’s only a year older (at press time) than I am. But I guess, if I wrote down all the weird, strange places I’ve lived, jobs I’ve had and people I know, it would probably look like I’d done a lot as well. You just can’t see mine on television (yet).

