The First Assistant: A Continuing Tale from Behind the Hollywood Curtain by Clare Naylor & Mimi Hare

3630So, when I passed by a Borders yesterday, the evil book-buying part of my brain took over and I ended up picking this up (as well as Shopaholic & Baby). I proceeded to devour the entire thing yesterday evening, which is the first time I’ve spent the evening just reading a book in a long, long time.

I didn’t like this one as well as the first one. The character didn’t seem to have the same grounding or something. It could be my own bias from my own experience fighting my way up in the industry, but it just really started pushing the lines of believability and just never came back from it. Even the ending – I just couldn’t get behind it. Again, it could be my own experience coloring the narrative since I didn’t anywhere near her level of achievement in two years in my three years. I know, I know, fiction. But still. Meh.

I also had a little trouble with the fact that one of her best friends (and sometimes love interest) shares a first name with my best friend (and sometimes love interest) in my LA story. Made me miss him more than I’d like to admit, even all these years later.

Overall, it was a fast, good read, but I still liked the first one better.

