Everyone Worth Knowing by Lauren Weisberger

462015On my first “real” trip to San Francisco, I picked up The Devil Wears Prada at the bookstore and proceeded to devour it during my breaks and on the flight back to LA. I loved every single page of the adventure, having worked for a boss that was very similar in peculiarity and just as demanding. I found myself laughing out loud in the back of the plane, empathizing with the main character while being glad that I no longer worked for a “Miranda.”

Last year, I picked up Lauren Weisberger’s second novel, Everyone Worth Knowing from the bargain bin (it’s a hardback) and left it on the shelf. I didn’t think that anything could stand up against Prada, and I didn’t want to be disappointed. As usual, I was half right.

It took me a while to get into it. There seemed to be some pacing problems and there were motivational problems for some of the characters. I figured out almost everything way before we were told, which is a little annoying, but then I got to have some “nah, it can’t be that easy, so it must be…” moments, which are fun too. The last third of the book was the best for me, though it mirrored Prada a bit too much in places.

All in all, it stays on my shelf, and I’ll definitely be picking up the next Weisberger novel whenever it comes out.

