Must Love Dogs by Claire Cook

485617I started my post-BC reading with some of Jennifer Weiner’s short stories from The Guy Not Taken (which seems to be quite popular among my fellow commuters), but I put it aside when I got Must Love Dogs in the mail as part of a Bookcrossing bookray.

It was a fairly quick read, but I wasn’t really captivated. I was expecting more to happen or some big moment of meaning for the main character and I didn’t really get it. There were a lot of characters to keep straight and a lot of things going on in the background that didn’t really seem to advance the plot. I couldn’t really identify with the main character, but that’s to be expected considering the differences in ages and life experiences.

It was a pleasant enough read, but I’m not sure I would recommend it to a friend, even for beach reading. I was all too happy to send it on to the next reader in the ray.

